French: Knowledge Check!

Around the first week of May, I learned the present conditional (or Présent Du Conditionnel in French).

The present conditional can be used to express the following:

A wish: If you come to my comedy show, it would make me happy.

To ask for something politely: Would you mind making a pen?

Advice: You should try driving to school instead.

To give hypothetical actions: If you came to school earlier more often, you would have received the perfect attendance award.

To talk about the future in the past: Antoine told us that he would bring us his notebook.

To conjugate the present conditional verbs, one would have to use the same stem as the infinitive and add the imperfect (imparfait) endings.

Imparfait endings (in order from 1st person to 3rd person plural): -ais, -ais, -ait, -ions, -iez, -aient

Example: Infinitive of avoir is aur-. Therefore, to make the verb 1st person singular, make is aurais.

Learning this concept was not hard because I learned how to conjugate imparfait and how to work with irregular stems. To prove how well I know the material, I received a 99 of 100% for the knowledge check on that topic. If anything, learning the present conditional allowed me to remember my endings for imparfait and it helped me rememebr the irregular stems like auvor (aur-) and aller (ir-).

French Pic 3

IMG_1173.jpg

 

Sources:

https://www.frantastique.com/en/french-grammar/le-conditionnel-present (picture 1)

 

Leave a comment